TRL Levels

At ITF, we use the NASA Technology Readiness Level (TRL) scale

Technology Readiness Levels (TRL) are a type of measurement system used to assess the maturity level of a particular technology. Each technology project is evaluated against the parameters for each technology level and is then assigned a TRL rating based on the projects progress. There are nine technology readiness levels. TRL 1 is the lowest and TRL 9 is the highest.

An overview of each level can be found below:

TRL One - The Idea

Basic principles have been observed. Research begins into possible applications

TRL Two - Invention begins

Technology concept is formulated.  Speculative, practical applications suggested

TRL Three - Active R&D is initiated 

Analytical studies and experiments validate critical functions and/or components

TRL Four - Components validated in laboratory 

Basic technological components are integrated to establish that they work together

TRL Five - Components validated in relevant environment

Basic technological components are integrated and tested in a simulated environment

TRL Six - Advanced prototype tested in relevant environment

More advanced system model or prototype demonstrated in a simulated environment

TRL Seven - Advanced prototype tested in operational environment

Advanced field testing of the actual system prototype in operational environment

TRL Eight - Completed technology proven through test and demonstration

Technology completed and qualified in its final form and under expected conditions

TRL Nine - Completed technology proven through successful commercial operations

Actual application of the technology in its final form and under normal conditions.

If you have any questions regarding the TRL scale please contact the Technology Team in the Aberdeen office.